Scholars You May Know

Name Year Scholarship Career Highlights
John A. Swanson 1957 American Bank Note Company Merit Scholarship Mechanical engineer, founder of ANSYS, Inc., 2004 John Fritz Medal recipient, philanthropist
Elvin R. Bishop 1960 A. O. Smith Merit Scholarship Musician, rock and blues legend
Stephen J. DeCanio 1960 National Merit Scholarship Professor of Economics, Emeritus, University of California, Santa Barbara, shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize as part of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
Joseph E. Stiglitz 1960 Lilly Endowment Merit Scholarship Professor of Economics at Columbia University, awarded the 2001 Nobel Prize in Economics, Former Senior Vice President and Chief Economist of the World Bank
Amory Bloch Lovins 1964 National Merit Scholarship Environmentalist and physicist, Chairman Emeritus and Chief Scientist of the Rocky Mountain Institute, author, MacArthur Fellow
Robert B. Reich 1964 National Merit Scholarship Chancellor's Professor of Public Policy at the University of California at Berkeley, former Secretary of Labor, author
Thomas R. Cech 1966 National Merit Scholarship Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Colorado, Boulder, awarded the 1989 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, former president of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Alexa I. Canady 1967 FMC Achievement Scholarship First African-American female neurosurgeon, former Chief of Neurosurgery at the Children's Hospital of Michigan
Mitchell Daniels, Jr. 1967 National Merit Scholarship President of Purdue University, former Governer of Indiana
Roger Y. Tsien 1968 National Merit Scholarship Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Professor of Pharmacology and Professor of Chemistry and Biochemisitry at the University of California-San Diego, awarded the 2008 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Jerry Greenfield 1969 Bache Corporation Foundation Merit Scholarship Co-founder, Ben & Jerry's, philanthropist
Paul R. Krugman 1970 National Merit Scholarship Professor of Economics and International Affairs at Princeton University, awarded the 2008 Nobel Prize in Economics, Author, OpEd Columnist for the New York Times
Ben S. Bernanke 1971 National Merit Scholarship Former Chairman, Federal Reserve, economist at the Brookings Institution
Evelynn M. Hammonds 1971 National Achievement Scholarship Former Dean of Harvard College, Professor of History and African American Studies at Harvard University
Jeffrey D. Sachs 1972 National Merit Scholarship Economist, Director of the Earth Institute at Columbia University, Special Advisor to UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon
Steven A. Ballmer 1973 National Merit Scholarship Former Chief Executive Officer of Microsoft Corporation
William H. "Bill" Gates III 1973 National Merit Scholarship Former Chairman, Microsoft Corporation, co-founder of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, philanthropist
Jim Cramer 1973 National Merit Scholarship Host of CNBC's Mad Money, author, financial advisor
Mae Carol Jemison 1973 Bell Telephone Laboratories Achievement Scholarship Retired NASA astronaut, physician, first African-American woman in space
John G. Roberts 1973 National Merit Scholarship Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court
Elena Kagan 1977 National Merit Scholarship Associate Justice of the United States Supreme Court
Lisa P. Jackson 1979 Nabisco Achievement Scholarship Vice President, Environment, Policy and Social Initiatives for Apple, Inc. and former Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency
Benjamin Alvin Drew 1980 National Achievement Scholarship Colonel in the United States Air Force, Air Force pilot, NASA astronaut
Gabe L. Newell 1980 National Merit Scholarship Co-founder and managing director of Valve Corporation, developer behind popular game franchises like Half-Life and Portal
Lisa J. Randall 1980 National Merit Scholarship Frank B. Baird, Jr., Professor of Science at Harvard University, author
Susan E. Rice 1982 National Achievement Scholarship United States National Security Advisor and former U.S. Ambassador for the United Nations
Jeffrey P. Bezos 1982 National Merit Scholarship Chairman and CEO,, owner of The Washington Post
Peter A. Thiel 1985 National Merit Scholarship Author, entrepreneur, co-founder of PayPal
Linda D. Rottenberg 1986 National Merit Scholarship CEO and co-founder of Endeavor, entrepreneur, New York Times bestselling author
Manoj "M. Night" Shyamalan 1988 New York University Merit Scholarship Director, filmmaker, two-time Academy Award nominee, known for films such as The Sixth Sense and Signs
James Michael McCullers 1989 BellSouth Merit Scholarship Writer and director; co-wrote two Austin Powers films and wrote and directed the film Baby Mama
Melissa Harris-Perry 1991 National Achievement Scholarship Host of MSNBC's "Melissa Harris-Perry" show, author, Presidential Chair Professor of Politics and International Affairs at Wake Forest University
Stephenie (Morgan) Meyer 1992 Brigham Young University Merit Scholarship Bestselling author of the Twilight series, film producer
Kathryn Felicia Day 1995 University of Texas Merit Scholarship Bestselling author and producer, writer, and lead actress of The Guild; appeared in House, Monk, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Supernatural, and Eureka.
Terence S. Carter 1997 National Achievement Scholarship Executive Vice President, Drama Development and Programming at Fox Broadcasting Company

  back to top

The individuals referred to above have been included here for informational purposes only. Reference to these individuals does not suggest and is not intended to suggest, either expressly or by implication, that any of these individuals endorse or sponsor NMSC or its programs.